PDA

View Full Version : Babalouie past rides...Luce 13B Rebuild Update Page 4!

Babalouie
15-08-06, 01:45 PM
I'm moving house ATM and found a huge cache of old pics of cars. I'll try to scan them in and post them up but here's one that I found in my office drawer (not sure how it got there)...

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m255/MX5_Dorifto/AE92.jpg
This is my beloved old AE92, at the Wakefield hillclimb track...circa 1993 :D

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m255/MX5_Dorifto/AE92-2.jpg

Sp33dY
15-08-06, 02:00 PM
Dogleggin FTW!

Babalouie
15-08-06, 02:14 PM
Dogleggin FTW!

There's actually a good story about the big pic.

When I sold the car, the guys that came to buy it were these two 18yr old Fast and Furious wannabes. Really cringeworthy. Of course, as I usually do, I play the old "I'm just a gentle driver, I don't believe in thrashing cars" routine :D :D

Anyway these wankers are really bad. They were thrashing the car like crazy, all the time giving me this really wanky attitude, like "bet that's the first time it's been over 4000rpm, eh?" and "Now THAT's how you take a corner!", etc etc. When the guy overtook over double yellow lines with oncoming traffic (that we barely missed), I pulled the pin on the test drive.

When I asked them what they did for a living, they said "We RACE!" Yes, they really, really did say that.

During the test drive they keep commenting on how well the car seems to handle. So I say things like "well, I baby the car and never thrash it. The problem with these cars is that they're driven too hard and are worn out. My car is just for driving from A to B" :) Of course the REAL reason why it handled so well was becos it had 2.5 degrees of negative camber and a bigger rear swaybar, but I kept that to myself.