PDA

View Full Version : AutoCAD - Anyone?

bogan
30-09-06, 12:39 PM
Has anyone used this program to create 3D forms? Complete beginner, it's like sitting in the cockpit of an aeroplane, i dont know where to start. Can anyone here give me some tips on how to do this? ta

import_bible
30-09-06, 03:18 PM
I've used AutoCad before, I would not start with 3D forms quite yet, get use to working in 2D. You should pick up a book that has excercises, I find it is the best way to learn. BTW I beleive AutoCAD is not that great for 3D objects.

bogan
30-09-06, 05:21 PM
So, i guess i should start with some simple house plans then. Do you still design with CAD programs? What type of programs do you use now? I'd be interested to see some of your work if possible! thanks for the reply

import_bible
01-10-06, 09:25 AM
I do not draft any more, I took it in highschool. I actually hated it. I work with illustrator, which is somewhat similar in style. I have posted some work already check out my car drawings.

KazeKid
02-10-06, 08:31 PM
I don't use Autocad, I'm fluent with SolidEdge.

Although I'm pretty sure those two are similar.

What I tend to do is think of an object in 2d, then expand it into a 3d form. Trust me this makes everything easier.

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/3273/pistonkeyringxuanmai16107188yu3.th.jpg (http://img175.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pistonkeyringxuanmai16107188yu3.jpg)

I made this thing in an hour (It's a keyring) just thinking in 2d forms. I'm not too knowledgeable in technical terms as I've only been doing technical drawing for a term :)

bogan
02-10-06, 08:57 PM
kyoru : Your stuff is pretty amazing. I've just done a couple random drafts, kinda getting used to them since they're too easy. NEXT STOP! 3D world!

Kazekid : Is there an online guide that you know of for 3D objects? Thats a nice looking keyring

KazeKid
02-10-06, 09:39 PM
I don't know of any sites.. Just try to think of an on object in multiple basic shapes, then combine them.