PDA

View Full Version : JDM life style in japan . . . the truth about the japanese domestic car culture.

gtrlux
19-11-10, 03:39 PM
Hi guys,

Some peeps always ask me how it is to live in japan and to be part of the japanese domestic car culture. . .so I thought it would be a great chance to write this little essay on this forum, rather then keeping my experiences for my self.
I work in the car industry and live in Aichi prefecture, the home of Toyotas factories and HQ. Despite not living in Tokyo, the place to be for enjoying hardcore street car culture, the scene over here is vibrant in another way.
I will try to write down a few explanations and points I would like to share, as many peeps have interest in such topics, also many of you guys have lived in japan as well, so we can discuss point of views and experiences.:)

1) Car ownership, the japanese way!
You may think that in japan, the used car market is about the same then as in Australia, the US or in Europe, but in fact its the most unique and different used car market in the world.
In japan nobody buys a car from a private person, nor do you try to sell your car in private, through classfields, online, in magazines . . . or like on the this very forum. 99,99% of japanese car owners only trade their cars with dealers, specificly their old dealer, they have been dealing with since 30 years!
This culture goes back to the fact that japan is the only industrialized country in the world, where the population doesn`t actively trade goods and belongings from one private ownership to another (japanese don`t sell houses, don`t sell appartements, don`t sell fornitures, cars, bikes, bicycles, toys,ex . . . . .).
Why do they have this culture?