PDA

View Full Version : Vtec swap to a Non vtec



Kaotic
12-06-07, 10:34 PM
Auto Vtec Civic and Gli manual...

is it posible to do a swap on a manual gli civic to vtec... my mate has an Auto ek Vtec civic and i have a manual gli (non vtec) civic and i was wondering if its possible to make my civic Vtec but still keep it manual..like just swap the vtec head? and how much would labor cost and anyone know of someone who can do it? Get what i mean??? Thanks everyone

StanTheMan
12-06-07, 11:08 PM
I'm not an expert on Vtec...but i'd say you'd need to swap the ECU as well.

tez
13-06-07, 12:17 AM
Yeh its called a mini-me conversion. Basically its just swapping the non-vtec head of your d-series motor to a vtec d-series head, and yes you'll definatly need the vtec ecu aswell as StanTheMan pointed out. I'm doubting that your mate's auto ecu will work with your manual trannie, so you'll need to find another ecu.

Kaotic
13-06-07, 12:25 AM
Thanks tez and stantheman! is it a big job to do the swap? cause i kinda need my car to get to work and stuff...

tez
13-06-07, 12:35 AM
Heres a walkthrough of the swap courtesy of honda-tech. HERE (http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=554053)
Not too sure on how long it will take but taking a stab; i rkn if you have all the right parts on the spot it shouldn't take anymore than 5-6 hours? However if you really want to do it thouroughly; thats including getting the block machined etc you should expect to be car-less for a coupla' days lol.

Kaotic
13-06-07, 12:43 AM
THANKS tez... thats realy helpfull!!!

fatboyz39
13-06-07, 10:50 AM
Alot of work involve. Might as well upgrade to a b16a.

newbie
13-06-07, 12:57 PM
or b18c

VTECMACHINE
13-06-07, 01:08 PM
Or K20A.

StanTheMan
13-06-07, 01:47 PM
in that case why not rotary. :lol: :P couln't resist

Kikkoman
13-06-07, 06:53 PM
Or a 4ag

:D:D:D

Nobbsy
13-06-07, 07:02 PM
^^ most JDMST thread ever

[[d a n n y]]
18-06-07, 12:43 AM
it is possible
but you'll be going through alot of hassle.
since yours is manual your ECU is a manual ECU
your mates AUTO VTEC has a AUTO ECU so if u match your Gbox to the VTEC engine it'll work but... the ECU is auto so u need to get a manual ECU
and then u need to add 3 wires to the engine bay wiring harness for the VTEC knock and oil pressure for the VTEC soloniod.

so it's not worth the hassle for the tiny gains your going to get
i sugges a B serise (DOHC VTEC) or a K serise

arron
18-06-07, 02:31 AM
Lol @ everyone's unhelpful posts...

Kaotic, listen to danny. He's done multiple B-series engine conversions and knows what he's talking about.
If you want VTEC (which is clearly over-rated), get a B16a/B18c engine conversion instead of just changing the head and everything else associated with that head...

But if you want a real engine, get a rotary.. hahaha.. hmm.. can't believe i'm still driving a honda.. i should be in a rx7

Polly
22-06-07, 01:21 PM
Or K20A.

EJ20T ahh no i have a better idea
RB26 hmm maybe a 2JZE