Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Canon DSLR Software - How to open RAW files

  1. #1
    Member VTECMACHINE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Daily
    Honda S2000 (AP2)
    2nd Car
    London Underground
    Name
    Rix
    Posts
    8,826

    Canon DSLR Software - How to open RAW files

    Hi guys,

    I have lost my CD's which came with my camera.
    It seems that until the software is installed on my PC I cannot import RAW files in Photoshop.

    Does anyone know where I can download this software from, or what it is called? By the way, my OS is Windows Vista.

    Thanks in advance.

    Rix.
    Last edited by VTECMACHINE; 03-12-08 at 01:04 AM.
  2. #2
    Member Peaking Duck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    MY06 STi & Soarer V8
    Posts
    909

    not sure where to get em from, but for the way i process em, u'll need

    1) Canon ZoomBrowser EX
    2) Raw Image Task

    These two programs were supplied with my 40D.

    Zoombrowser to browse the photos (no matter the format) and Raw Image Task to edit the RAW Files and save to TIFFs

    hmm also, for windows to reckonize RAW files, i think theres a CR2 patch thingo for windows avaliable on the canon site
  3. #3
    Member De_Cruelz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Sydney
    Posts
    441

    Hey Rix, look for Canon RAW codec so you can view thumbnails in Vista. Only works for Vista 32 though!

    Which Photoshop version you using? I think you might need to update it if you can't open your RAW files.
  4. #4
    Member VTECMACHINE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Daily
    Honda S2000 (AP2)
    2nd Car
    London Underground
    Name
    Rix
    Posts
    8,826

    I don't mind about not being able to see them, but I just want to be able to open them in photoshop.

    I have CS3 on my laptop, which I need to fix. And CS2 on my home PC.
  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    111

    For photoshop you should be able to get a fix online which will allow you to open them.
    The Canon RAW processor is Digital Photo Professional, can be downloaded online.
  6. #6
    Member NeoNode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    14' A45 AMG
    Posts
    284
  7. #7
    Member [ekkY]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Daily
    People drive me around
    Posts
    993

    you can have my cd rick
    as i dont use my 400D as much
  8. #8
    Member OVTEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    Tangara
    2nd Car
    Honda Mirage
    Posts
    3,902

    oh ekky! can i borrow it first
  9. #9
    Member minix3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,129

    Ricky you can take my CD's if you want
    You still owe me max for your t-shirt =p
    Give Alan and I a call if you are free tomorrow night and we can drop by for some max and I will give it to you then.
  10. #10
    Member wilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Daily
    Supercharged MX5
    2nd Car
    R33 S2
    Posts
    2,213

    Quote Originally Posted by VTECMACHINE View Post
    I don't mind about not being able to see them, but I just want to be able to open them in photoshop.

    I have CS3 on my laptop, which I need to fix. And CS2 on my home PC.
    CS3 -> you need to update Adobe Bridge. Once you've done that you should be able to open your RAW files?

    What camera are you using btw?

    Just search for, cs3 open 40D RAW files in google. There are some easy to follow instructions online.

    http://www.google.com.au/search?q=cs...+40D+RAW+files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •