Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Auto vs Manual? Give me your experience and tips!

Daily
    Infiniti G37 Coupe
    Name
    Andrew Kats

Auto vs Manual? Give me your experience and tips!

Hello everyone! I'm a new driver and want to get into the whole JDM scene in the next few years. I don't own my own car YET, but I drive my friend's and family's cars, specifically my fathers Infiniti G37. I live in the U.S in New York City Area (Not exactly in the city but on the outskirts) aka Queens. Automatics are greatly hated on in the JDM world mainly because people who do not drive manuals are "pussies". I want to drive a stick but in my area its fairly difficult with traffic and such. I just want to hear it from you guys. Is it worth sticking it out? Should I get an auto first then a stick? I go to meets but am usually just mesmerized by everyone elses beautiful cars and hope to one day own one day own and stance my car ( Pref a wrx sti ) anyway thank you for anyone that helps. No hate please Wish the JDM scene was as nice here as it is in Australia! Have a great day guys!
    Daily
    Camry
    Name
    jeff

For every yin there is a yang,

there are always gonna be auto haters, but imo if you like what you drive then it shouldnt really matter if auto or manual. Hate is such a strong word, just because you drive an auto you are a pussy ? Not sure where you heard that from; go call a gtr35 owner that see what'll happen.

If you have 0 experience in driving, i suggest doing auto first, then when you have a feel of the maneuvering the car and get used to driving around, get used to the rules etc and stuff like that, then you can learn manual after that.

Manuals are more fun than auto imo - auto is more convenient - with traffic, parking is easier, dont have to worry much about stalling etc.